Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im new to the site , have been checking the site out for a while but just now registered as im in a bind.

OK i recently finsihed building my poncho 400 bored 040 forged pistons 6x heads shaved to 9.2CR , Perf RPM dual plane intake , lunati 233/241 503/527 110lsa cam , scorpion roller rockers etc.

I have never built a pontiac before only chevy's and i have never used oil pump gaskets, well i didnt use one on this Pontiac either.
I was talking to a friend who told me that Pontiacs require a gasket on the oil pump....

When i finished the motor after cam break in , i noticed that once it warms up to 190 oil pressure drops to ZERO on my auto meter 200ps gauge that was in the car , so i went and bough a cheap sunpro oil pressure gauge and its reading 55lbs on start up , once warm and in gear 20lbs at idle , if i bump the throttle it flys up to 60lbs.

Just trying to figure out if i need to lift the motor and drop the pan to put this gasket on the oil pump... Or if pontiacs are like Chevys where they will be ok without them .... I used the melling high volume pump.

·
Grumpy Old Goat Herder
1,397 Posts
I have always used a gasket between the pump and the block. I don't know if it won't work without one, but as long as you have sufficiant oil pressure, you should be okay.

Bill

·
WFO
5,030 Posts
I always use a gasket. Paper is OK but IIRC Melling has a copper one that's nice. Pumps are usually very flat but the block is another matter. I wouldn't risk not using a gasket.

·
Faith - Respect - Trust
3,528 Posts
Agreed with all above, I've built many a Pontiac motor and always use the gasket. Don't know if you'll be OK or not but, I do agree that if you have sufficient oil pressure chances are you haven't done damage.