Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I have posts all over the place here I decided to just start a "project thread"

So here it is..

Being a COMPLETE noobie to painting with no sources for knowledge other than the web, the paint shop, and a small book I have been learning a lot.

The vehicle: 1973 VW bug

The intent: Restore to original outside condition, update interior and suspension.

Where I stand currently: I started by going at it with the DA, then the sandblaster (both HF tools). Once I got it all stripped I knew I needed an etching primer so I went to my local auto parts store and got a few rattle cans. After a little reading I quickly found rattle can is not the way to go and down to my local PPG reseller I went for a pint of epoxy primer.

For a gun I went to my local sears and bought the best they had for about $100. I sprayed the primer and was not real happy with the results so I researched a replacement and decided on the astro pneumatics with both a 1.3 and a 1.5 tip.

I sanded the epoxy primer in places that had dents and did my body work with filler, sanded down with 220 wet sand paper. To float in the patches I got some transtar 2 in 1 rattle can filler.

That is where I am right now.

Because the epoxy primer sat for so long I got another pint, this time I also got some reducer to make it flow on a bit better (will use a 2:1:1 mix). I am hoping to respray the car with the primer this saturday followed by the omni Single Stage paint a couple hours later.

Here is where I keep the pictures of the project:
http://rivercityrockcrawlers.com/web_pages/gallery/Oscar

A few selected images..

major rust repair..

there are probbably about 6 places that I patched, I put some sheetmetal on the back side and filled in the holes.

and the body work..

·
Registered
36 Posts