Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm doing an engine swap in a 2007 PT Cruiser and having trouble getting the factory gauges to work. The engine is a small block chevy with a t350 trans. Does anyone know what I might need besides a speed signal that would get the factory speedometer, odometer, and tach to work?
 

·
More for Less Racer
Joined
·
20,380 Posts
2007 is new enough it all would have run through a BCM(Body control module) or the main PCM?ECM (Powertrain or Engine control modules).
i don't think you'll be able to make it happen without the computers running it. The digital odometer for sure would be stored by the computer.

Maybe somebody will have a better answer??
Maybe some kind of Arduino to translate the needed signals??

Sounds like maybe a cool project....what did you use for the rear wheel drive conversion chassis??
 

·
Registered
1964 Thunderbird, 390 FE
Joined
·
221 Posts
If you're going to the trouble of v8 swapping a PT Cruiser, you should look into finding different gauges that fit in the holes in the dash. I have a 2005 PT and the gauges are typical Chrysler quality. The speedo and tach needles vibrate annoyingly at highway speeds. The tach is also a little slow when I wind it out and shift quickly. (it's a 5 speed)

I too am interested in how you stuffed a SBC in a PT. Got some pictures?

I myself have considered taking the PT's powertrain and building an off-road vehicle with it if the car ever gets totaled. One of the if, then someday projects...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,476 Posts
Unless you’re a computer guru and or have lots of money I remain at nothing newer than 1986 with some, mostly pickups, in the 87 through 95 time frame. Starting in 96 and thereafter you’re into OBD II where everything needing to or not goes through a computer. Chrysler’s hard, firm and software architectures are about the worst in the industry. Like there’s a surprise here! Think of the crap that Mercedes Benz and Fiat puts out and you’ve got your answer as to why.

You might as well tear it all out and go to the aftermarket for more conventional replacements.

Bogie
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
128 Posts
Enter vehicle data here: Mopar Connection Repair Kit
It will give you listing of all the connectors in the vehicle, with pinouts.
There are 4 for the instrument cluster. Unfortunately it receives information via
CAN bus. So you'd need to leave the PCM connected.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'd like to try using the factory gauges. If all I need are a few sensor inputs (speed sensor, crank sensor, trans range sensor) then I'd like to try. However, if a whole bunch of other inputs are required i.e. cam sensor, throttle position, O2, then I think that would be hard to duplicate with a NA motor and would probably start to look for aftermarket gauges. So I'm hoping there is someone with deep knowledge of the Chrysler computer that would know what inputs are required.

As far as the overall project, it's been fun. I built a frame under the car for the motor, rear coil over suspension, and triangulated four link. Putting in the engine was easier that I thought since the front of the car opens up so you don't have to angle the motor and trans in. If anyone wants to discuss the project in detail or see pictures I'd be happy to pass information along. If I could get an email address that would be OK.

Anyway, this instrument panel thing is about the last thing I need to do in order to close everything up so I'm hoping there's someone out there that can help me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
I'd like to try using the factory gauges. If all I need are a few sensor inputs (speed sensor, crank sensor, trans range sensor) then I'd like to try. However, if a whole bunch of other inputs are required i.e. cam sensor, throttle position, O2, then I think that would be hard to duplicate with a NA motor and would probably start to look for aftermarket gauges. So I'm hoping there is someone with deep knowledge of the Chrysler computer that would know what inputs are required.

As far as the overall project, it's been fun. I built a frame under the car for the motor, rear coil over suspension, and triangulated four link. Putting in the engine was easier that I thought since the front of the car opens up so you don't have to angle the motor and trans in. If anyone wants to discuss the project in detail or see pictures I'd be happy to pass information along. If I could get an email address that would be OK.

Anyway, this instrument panel thing is about the last thing I need to do in order to close everything up so I'm hoping there's someone out there that can help me.
oh hell yeah, pt cruisers are garbage but jamming a big carb'd v8 into anything tiny is always ******. pics. now! :D
 

·
Registered
1964 Thunderbird, 390 FE
Joined
·
221 Posts
I'd like to try using the factory gauges. If all I need are a few sensor inputs (speed sensor, crank sensor, trans range sensor) then I'd like to try. However, if a whole bunch of other inputs are required i.e. cam sensor, throttle position, O2, then I think that would be hard to duplicate with a NA motor and would probably start to look for aftermarket gauges. So I'm hoping there is someone with deep knowledge of the Chrysler computer that would know what inputs are required.

As far as the overall project, it's been fun. I built a frame under the car for the motor, rear coil over suspension, and triangulated four link. Putting in the engine was easier that I thought since the front of the car opens up so you don't have to angle the motor and trans in. If anyone wants to discuss the project in detail or see pictures I'd be happy to pass information along. If I could get an email address that would be OK.

Anyway, this instrument panel thing is about the last thing I need to do in order to close everything up so I'm hoping there's someone out there that can help me.
From what I gather you are working with a formerly turboed PT?

You can post pictures directly here by clicking the little landscape icon in the reply box:
Font Asphalt Display device Circle Automotive lighting
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,733 Posts
Yes. Body Control Modules can be tricky at the very least. On the simplest they are a wiring nightmare. But then they decided to save money by making the BCM a router sending a signal to things like the the windows, locks, turn signals, etc. This lets you have one power wire one ground going to several things inside a door etc. Then the module tells the window motor to go down a inch at 90 degrees interior temp kind of thing for 10 minutes. All kinds of fun things these BCM can do besides save on wiring.

I would gut the cluster and keep the face and pointers stock. Then install gauges (gps) with the same sweep angle and diameter. Depending on the gauges you may be able to keep the odometer or use one with a external display you can place where the PT's was previously.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top