Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hello all.
struggling with a lean condition off idle. WAs going to bump this thread but the page suggested starting a new post because of its age.

i am running the idles screws out ~4 turns and increased the pump nozzle to a 35. and still stumble a little.

Anyway,, looking at the idle air bleed spec's it is supposed to be 70/39 out of the box. I have 78/63, The main bleeds are 31s

I called to QF/Holley. as always, they never answer the phone. Anyone else have this mismatch? I am not a professional tuner so i don't really know what it should have but it seems big/lean

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also the main Jets are 66 and not 68 as spec'd

·
More for Less Racer
20,557 Posts
Yeah, idle air bleed sizes are very lean, especially the secondary side.
Matches up with the fact you've got to have the idle mixture screws cranked way out trying to get it rich enough.

The main jet size won't matter for the idle circuit problem.
2 jet sizes smaller is a standard tuning jump for testing, so it's fine for right now until you get to WOT testing .

I would leave the idle fuel restrictions as-is, change the air bleeds to what the spec sheet says they should be, put the pump shooter back to stock #31, and give it another test.

·
Registered
4,448 Posts