Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. Had this site referred to me by a bunch of people, and heard that it was really helpful. Anyway, I bought a late 70's 350 with the two piece rear main seal and im wondering where would the money be best spent? I'm just a begining tech, but really interested in pursuing this. I have the block, knocked out the freeze plugs, needs bored more than likely. What would qualify it has needed boring? I know that engines are really finicky about measurements but maybe a hone would do. Whats the amount of damage that a hone could fix?

The block seems ok, i had my uncle check it for cracks, but it has rust or just grime in most of the passages, and really needs cleaned in places where I just can't reach. Seems to have sat for a while, but I though it would be a good foundation to build from.

The pistons are shot, and the bearings dont show the abnormal wear that have looked at in books or other web sites. But I'm sure that those will need to be replaced too. So basically everything will need to ber re done on the short block. The heads are in horrible shape and would be better off going to scrap. But I disassembled them for the experience and the valves have horrible corrosion and just the chambers on in the ****ter too.

So what would be the best angle to approach this project from?
Any tips on anything would be helpful as well, because im just learning the basics.

Also, any books on the subject that would be of help?
Any Project journals that are aboput this? As this is a pretty popular topic I imagine.

Thanks
Drew

·
Registered
15,305 Posts
01CamaroGuy said: