Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan on rebuilding a 454 big block. I've been all over ebay looking for a bare block. The cheapest block are Mercruiser 454. Reading a few post on the web about converting marine to street can happen if certain parts are changed. You can't believe everything you read on the internet. I was hoping I could trust someone who enjoys a lot of power in their hot rods to help me out. If I have a bare 454 Mercruiser block I'm ok to rebuild it and put it in a car?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
rebuilding 454

Thanks Hcompton. I have limited knowledge on marine engines. Didn't know one ran reverse. Learn something today thanks! I will probably end up spending the extra money.

·
Registered
12,338 Posts
when building an engine a bare block will be the most expensive way.If you have nothing,start with a 540 as its the best bang for the buck unless you have a 454 you want to build?
How much power and budget is where you start. application?

·
Registered
939 Posts
CraigsList.org; America's Speedshop, as long as you can deal with the "Craigs List Freaks". All kinds of BBC parts and complete engines locally (Seattle area). The only really bad thing are the nuts who think a rusted up, POS, block "can just be hot tanked". Why do they keep them outside in the elements to start with? junior stocker.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
when building an engine a bare block will be the most expensive way.If you have nothing,start with a 540 as its the best bang for the buck unless you have a 454 you want to build?
How much power and budget is where you start. application?
I wish I had 10k just laying around to buy a 540 crate motor. I'd have to disagree on the bare block being the most expensive way. I'm going to be on a budget and getting a bare block around 500-600 bucks I can manage the budget better with what to add to the engine, as far as parts go.