Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys I am looking into buying a book on welding and I am totally new to the subject and know only the basics starting off wise of knowing the difference between old stick welding and MIG and TIG welding along with flux core welding styles of machines you can get. I looked on amazon and I am lost on what I should look for in a book on welding as mostly I want to get one that covers pretty much everything across the board especially when it comes to flux core welding which I have practiced a few times before on somebody else's welder.

I know the flux core is the easiest to use for the novel beginner from what I have seen watching videos on youtube and reading up on it here and there. Can anyone recommend a good book that covers all the basics and covers advanced stuff like auto body stuff and welding sheet metal and similar do it your self type stuff? Thanks guys

·
Banned
5,557 Posts
As far as automotive use, older but modern style vehicle (POS) quality collision repair can be accomplished with flux core. But MIG is the standard for the most part. TIG would be that in fabrication and sometimes also in restoration. Less often in collision.

As far as a book... I bet welders still come with manuals. Classroom would be the place to pick up practical knowledge and experiment with types. In my opinion.

·
Registered
2,804 Posts
One advantage of MIG with shielding gas is that if you are inexperienced you can still usually get a decent looking weld. You still have to worry about getting good penetration so that its a good weld, but it won't need as much clean up when you are done. One downside of gas is that you need to have relatively still air to keep the gas flowing on the joint. It won't work well if you are trying to do your work outside on a breezy day.