Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading an thread on a different forum(cs), a fellow made mention of how insurance companies deal with unsafe mods and fab work. ie backyard wrenching. This paticular company refused to provide a policy to a person who lowered there car, unless it was returned to a stock condition.

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this, but I have seen eough people do less than quality work, as I'm sure most everybody else. People who who just bought a new miller, figure they are a welder, people who just got a new set of craftsman wrenches figure there smokey, people who just got a soldering gun, figure they can run wire.... you get the idea.

The question is for you lads, and judging by some of your projects . ie. ground up builds and complete restorations, you are qualified to answer.

How do you go about getting certification, registration and insurance for your vehicles?

I would hate to do some work on a vehicle, only to have some sort of calamity, causing a injury and having the lawyers rip me apart because I was'nt qualfied to do said work.

How would one go about following set engineering standards? Does one just take the car when finished , to the inspection center, tell the tech what you have done to the car and let him judge, realizing that if you were not truthfull it would just put you back on the hook for liability.

This is some what of an open ended question. I think people and myself would benifit, hearing, in how do do it right from the start.

cheers

·
Glad To Be Here
2,240 Posts
abuseddog said:
How do you go about getting certification, registration and insurance for your vehicles?

I would hate to do some work on a vehicle, only to have some sort of calamity, causing a injury and having the lawyers rip me apart because I was'nt qualfied to do said work.