Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Its just metal,you're the boss
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my daily driver, 01 cavalier single cam, has been acting up. for the forth time it has left me sitting. this time at college 40 miles from home.

every now and then the car just wont start. it has spark and I believe I can hear the fuel pump kick on. i haven't found a schrader valve on the fuel rail any where so i don't know if it has fuel to the injectors. i don't want to just replace the fuel pump and see what happens because they are expensive, and im a poor college student so if im going to start throwing parts at it i would like to know for sure what parts to throw.

when this happens the check engine light comes on, today the check oil light came on as well. i've taken the car to a mechanic right after it acted up like this and he says it returned no codes but the fuel filter was plugged up badly so he replaced it. that was 2 weeks ago and it has worked fine since. this seems to be happening more and more as time goes on. does any one have any idea what this might be or even a good place to start? any help is very appreciated. thank you in advance.

·
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
5,122 Posts
leldai73 said:
my daily driver, 01 cavalier single cam, has been acting up. for the forth time it has left me sitting. this time at college 40 miles from home.

every now and then the car just wont start. it has spark and I believe I can hear the fuel pump kick on. i haven't found a schrader valve on the fuel rail any where so i don't know if it has fuel to the injectors. i don't want to just replace the fuel pump and see what happens because they are expensive, and im a poor college student so if im going to start throwing parts at it i would like to know for sure what parts to throw.