Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

i need a rod end to go from 14mm X 1.5 thread female to 7/16" bore. This is a chevette manual rack to strange struts.

1) It seems like most rod ends have the same bore as the thread size. i find this a little strange, but that's the way things are, apparently?

2) i'm new to rod ends (as you can probably tell), even though i've known what they are for decades. It's just now is when i really need one for my situation.

3) Are there rod ends available in this configuration? i will email the major manufactures, but i thought i'd check in here first due to the vast experience that many here have with this type of thing.

4) Is there an adapter/spacer etc. that can bring 14mm down to 7/16" for the bore?

5) Worst comes to worst, i'm not opposed to drilling out the 7/16" hole in the steering arm to 14mm and, if necessary dremeling it out and/or sanding the bolt down so as to keep a tight no-play assembly; As you can see, the steering arms are bolted to the bottom of the struts with 4 allen-type bolts:

So, if i mess things up, or if i want to go back to 7/16", they are easily replaceable. Although i don't see why i would want to go back to 7/16"....

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
P.S.
The wheels are toed in at the moment----the steering arms are not that close to the tie rod ends.

·
Registered
528 Posts
A quick search on "heim joint 14x1.5" gets this: QA1 MHFR14-1 Metric H Series Rod Ends, 14mm Bore, 14X1.5 6G RH

It would be a cinch to machine a bushing insert to take the hole dia down to your 7/16".

If there were not such a thing as metric rod ends I suppose we'd be looking at 1/2" (.50") ones to see if there's enough meat to drill/tap into 14mm (.56") but it doesn't look like that's necessary.

·
More for Less Racer
19,898 Posts