Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought an 84 Camaro Iroc Z and it was sitting for a few years before I got it. done some work to it to get it running and staying running but it's got some issues I'm hoping one of you SBC Gurus can help me figure out.

The engine runs and starts just fine, but there is a tink sound coming from it seems like the top half of the engine. I'm new to these things but I'm also eager to figure out this problem. Where should be the first place I need to look for upper engine metal noise? I got new plugs and wires, didnt do anything. Maybe I should adjust the timing? Or do i need to check compression on each cylinder first?

I'm in need of some experienced friendly help. What would you do first to locate such an issue?

Thanks, aormz

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
You know, you could look and tinker and replace all kinds of stuff on that car and still not find whats making the noise. Since you live in a large city I would ask around and find a VERY reputable, honest (yes, there are still some around) repair shop and take the car in. Or, find a car club type guy that really knows hit chit and for a small fee can help you.

·
Not Considered a Senior Member
10,722 Posts
I don`t think they made a 84 Iroc, but besides the point, these cars are notorious for exhaust manifold leaks. I`ve seen some that didn`t get any
exhaust manifold gaskets from the factory so in time once the heat begins to warp them they leak.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
DoubleVision said:
I don`t think they made a 84 Iroc, but besides the point, these cars are notorious for exhaust manifold leaks. I`ve seen some that didn`t get any
exhaust manifold gaskets from the factory so in time once the heat begins to warp them they leak.

K, just wondering if I should check into this for my car?! the Title says 84, and it's an Iroc. lol

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·