Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Again I am a newbie here and have a question concerning older sbc's that still have the tube and canister holes inplace. I have been through the knowledge base and didn't come across any info

I am planning on warming up the old 283 in my 56 /150 with a 30 over and a little cam . My question is if I use the old tube hole at the back of the block as the PVC conn. to the carb , what should \could be done to the hole that the canister was in under the intake ? Plug?

Stroker56

·
Member# 3287
2,625 Posts
I'm assuming you have an oil filler tube with a threaded bung? In that case, your PCV should screw in there and a line then goes to the carb.

The hole in the back of the block should be used as an air inlet from the air cleaner. There was a metal cap that mounted on/in that rear hole. There was also a cannister down in the lifter valley. I believe they are still available from Corvette suppliers.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. The engine is not as built \original. No filler at the front . But has a breather in one valve cover so thats where i was filling. I have the cap that bolts down to the draft hole at the back . So you recommend I run a hose from it to the air cleaner ?

Can I install PVC in the valve cover ?

Do I really need the canister in the lifter valley or will oil just get sucked up in to air cleaner?

·
Member# 3287
2,625 Posts
Slightly different scenario, buy still ok.

The cap for the rear hole in the block should mount with a long thin (1/4"?) bolt and the cap should have a tube for a vacuum hose. I would route that to the air cleaner.

If you have a place for the PCV on a valve cover, I would put it there and route that hose to the large port on the carb.