1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Automotive tire Tableware Rim Cookware and bakeware Tread

Tire Wheel Automotive tire Automotive lighting Tread

Tire Automotive tire Light Tread Motor vehicle

Hello guys well after a long time doing my first ever tear down to a short block here is my findings and need some seasoned veterans opinions on what I have as far as it it good to still use and last a while for a year or slightly longer or is it really bad? I am no expert on this as I am used to low mileage stuff and things that are new from scratch and have only seen pictures of used engines etc.

I was hoping to see a cross hatch but with the mirror like polish in the cylinders I am assuming that is what is called cylinder glaze perhaps. Most of the cylinders don't look bad and I found no up and down marks that would catch my finger and the only cylinder that has what looks like some slight rust that came from water from sitting or something was number 7 which you can see in the pictures. I could hardly catch it with my nail but you can still feel it. Also on a cylinder ridge there is a very slight one and it catches my finger nail but not really bad but don't know what is considered really bad. Who ever said they rebuilt this thing sure most have been smoking weed as it it not a rebuilt motor from anytime in the last ten plus years that I can tell for sure.

I am ready to get and buy the rest of the gaskets and stuff to get this thing to be able to put back together but what are your guys opinions? Also does anything look out of the ordinary of what the head gasket left over along with the heads? If you need some more photos let me know. Thanks guys and appreciate your help.
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive design Alloy wheel

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Rim Gas

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·