Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
roy i looked through your site i may have missed it but i didnt see the how to on shaved door handels if you would can some one explain it to me how to actuate the door fill the holes etc i am by no means a pro at body work but i am d*mned and determined to do the whole truck my self by the way its a 76 gmc truck there will be only two holes to patch thanks in advance for the help

·
Registered
109 Posts
Brandon did you want to know how to fill the doors or how to make them work by remote. ROY

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well........both i have never done a shaved door i have an idea on how but i dont have extra doors if i screw these up so any info will help thanks

·
Registered
1 Posts
Maybe I can help you out. I shaved the handles on both mine and my wife's Plymouths. I was too cheap to buy a module kit from the hot rod shop, so I used a keyless entry module from early '90's Buick or Chev car. I welded metal inside the doors to cover the handle holes and then filled the outside with fibreglass filler. I mounted the door lock motors towards the bottom of the doors and made rods to connect the motor to the door latch. I followed the wiring scematic for the module so the right button (which is the "unlock" button) on the keychain opens the right door, and the left button (which is the "lock" button) to open the left door. It works out that if you hit the "unlock" or right button twice, it pops both doors. I did , however, go to the rod shop to buy door poppers. If you need details on the wiring, I can help you with that also. By the way, the module and motors only cost me $100.00.

·
Registered
109 Posts