Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I painted the front end of a car that had damage and repaired. I got solvent pop (tiny bubbles in clear), in the paint. I thought, maybe because I added a little reducer to the clear to make it flatten out better (it worked before). So, the second attempt, straight clear. More solvent pop. It's in the pattern of the spray gun path. Third try, after sanding, base coat and clear. Waited longer between coats, maybe 45 minutes to one hour. More pop, always different area but same pattern. I'm thinking, maybe too hot in the garage (upper 80's) and drying too fast. Or, maybe spray gun tip is worn out. Bought a new (better) spray gun. Verified all my gun settings, sanded, thin color coat and three coats of clear. More solvent pop but smaller bubbles. Did the wax and grease, clean surface, waiting up to an hour between coats of clear. I've been painting cars for 20 years and never had the same issue over and over like this. What's going on??? I'm ready to take it to Maco.
Thanks for any suggestions.

·
True Hotrodder
1,328 Posts
Honestly sounds like the clear and activator are having the issue, not your setup or gun. I would take it back to the supplier, request they try it and of course replace the product for you.

·
Registered
852 Posts
That sucks. I know its frustrating. The only time I've ever seen solvent pops, are in my runs!
Also, a painter told me long ago to never walk away after you paint a car and close all the doors. Always let it flash off before you go home for the day/night.
I'm not saying that is what's happening. Actually, if you have been spraying for 20 years, and never had this problem, I'm with Chase and would bet you got a bad batch of clear...

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4