Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Read Only
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
I'm new to HVLP, but been lurking on the site for a while, and been practicing on some cheap aluminum panels before I get to painting. I did okay last time but today when I pulled the gun out, reassembled it and started more testing, the paint wasn't coming out the same. I had to keep pulling the trigger to get any sort of flow. Otherwise it give a little burst, then just air. The settings at the compressor and gun were all the same as last time, paint diluted, all the parts put back where they were, etc. I tried adjusting flow, pattern and pressure but that only made more paint come out when with the initial burst. Everything that I can see is clean, tip, cap & needle. I was using a iwata az3 hte2. Any obvious thoughts I don't know about as a newbie?
Thanks for the help!

·
Read Only
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What type and brand of gun and pressures used? :cool:
It's the Iwata az3 hte2. I've been running the compressor around 45 psi to get tip pressure around 25-28 psi. That worked well last time I used it. Same settings, same paint, same gun, different results!

·
Registered
13 Posts
A few weeks ago my HTE gun started acting up. I thought it was clean, I cleaned and tightened everything up multiple times and it would still be inconsistent spraying fine on second then terrible the next.

Turns out it wasn't as clean as I thought... I looked at the fluid tip under magnification and it had a tiny bit of epoxy (primer) built up on it where it passes through the air cap. I carefully scraped that off with an Exacto knife and all was well. I couldn't see it with my naked eye, but it sure messed things up.

·
Registered
852 Posts
Hi Guys,