173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just finished getting my engine squared away. Specs are as follows
385 sbc
Forged internals
Flat tops (11.0:1 compression)
Afr 195 heads
Comp cams hydraulic roller camshaft
230/236 112 lsa (I’ll attach the card for more detailed information)
Edelbrock performer rpm
Quick fuel 750
th350 transmission

vehicle is a 1984 Monte Carlo that weighs about 3000 pounds.
275/60r15’s in the rear. 4:11 gears in a Ford 9 inch. I also have a chunk with 3.50’s in it.
I’m looking for a stall speed that could possibly blanket both of those rear gears if possible. I really like the 4.11’s because my vehicle sees virtually no interstate travel and most city streets near me don’t exceed 45mph.

right now I have a tci street fighter stall that’s rated for 3400-3500.. I think that’s too much but Im not a pro at determining stall speed. It acts as if you have to really get into it to get it going. Comp didn’t advise me my cams operating range so I have to kinda find out on my own I guess. Im looking at a 2800 stall right now.

Any advice would be appreciated
Rectangle Font Parallel Screenshot Technology

·
Registered
242 Posts
Your thinking is sound, for a target stall around 2800 on a street car, especially with the 4.11's. Surprised Comp wasn't more help with this. They're usually pretty responsive.

·
Vendor
9 Posts
If you haven't actually ran the converter with your current combo yet I would recommend trying it. That converter usually works well in a street/strip combination. If you need any other parts give us a try!

·
More for Less Racer
20,387 Posts
Problem isn't the 3400-3500 rpm stall speed...it's the fact you bought a TCI StreetFighter converter.
Loose sloppy things from my experience. Wouldn't use it if you gave it to me free. It's a pre-boxed "fitz-all" converter.