Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a camaro that needs to be stripped and repainted,But I have no experience doing this.Could you please help me with where I should start.And what is the best way to trip the car down to the medal,and get it ready to painted again?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Hello,

Stripping a whole car can take a long time. At school I am currently stripping a hood and 2 fenders and it took me around 5 hours and it is not finished.

You should wear some protection before starting because paint stripper is pretty dangerous on the skin. Always use glasses and gloves. You could also use a shirt with long sleeve so you won't burn you arms.

The first thing to do before starting is to clean the car from dust and grease/oil. That way the paint stripper will work better. After the car is all clean, use some 50-80 grit sand paper and sand the whole car just to scratch the paint. You don't need to remove paint with it, it is just to help the stripper get inside the paint. You should put some plastic on the floor to catch all the paint so you won't have to clean the floor.

After you sanded, apply the paint stripper generously on 1 part of the car. Don't apply on a big part because it will probably dry and make the process of removing the paint harder. Once you have applied the stripper on the part, put a sheet of plastic (polythene) over it so the stripper won't dry and it will work much better. When you let it work, you can apply stripper on another part to save some time later.

When the stripper has worked for 10-20 minutes (depending on the brand), you can start removing paint with a metal scrapper. . You start over the 2 last steps until you have stripped the piece to metal. When it is on metal just clean the car with water to dissolve the stripper. Don't forget to dry the car or it will rust in no time.