Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey i have a 83 dodge diplomat i got a few years ago now and ide like to fix it up for fun, it runs and everything, bodys good but the front sub frame is rusty, how much would a new sub frame cost and were would i buy one at? thanks alot!!!

also would it be mayjorly hard to put it on a full frame? ide like to go the easyest way and get rid of that rust, thanks!!!

·
Registered
4,259 Posts
What you want to do would be exceedingly expensive and would probably cost more than the value of the car, even if you did it yourself. Make no mistake this would not be an easy project.

Your car is a unit-body design and the only sub frame that will easily fit is one from another 88 Dodge Diplomat. If the frame is rusty, that's not a big deal. If it's rusted out with holes and has been seriously compromised then the best course of action would be to part the car out because like I said before, fixing it would cost way more than the value of the car.

Take a strong wire brush and clean the existing sub frame so you can check to see if it has rusted through. If not just paint it with some POR-15 and spend your money on other improvements.

The idea of putting a unit-body car on a full frame is another expensive, labor intensive project and I wouldn't recommend it for your application since literally everything would have to be fabricated.

Good luck,

Centerline

·
Registered
8 Posts
Get another sub frame from a junk yard that is in good shape. you
can change the frame and reinstall the running gear. I have done it a couple times with GM cars. If you get a good one complete you will be able to change the whole frame with components and not have to strip the old one. The last one I did I just bought a junk car with good frame. Took out frame with steering wheels brakes tie rods etc and changed everything. Than put my engine and trannie in and it was ready to go.