Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Keep on Truckin'
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I would really appreciate some more experienced thought on this topic.
I plan to cut out the rust on my Frame and just weld in some new metal, beef up the weak spots, weld in new floor pans in the body, making the frame air suspension ready, and what not on my daily driver.

I don't have much time to get a Really top notch welder, so I'm going with Harbor Freight on this one. I think I'd go with one of these

270 Amp Arc Welder

240 Volt Inverter Arc / TIG Welder

I'm a complete beginner but I guess a little research and some trial and error could get me on my way.
I'd prefer something gas-less, but I guess if its going to make a reliable weld then i'm sure its worth it.
Thanks Everyone.

·
Faith - Respect - Trust
3,528 Posts
Seeing your a beginner...check out some MIG welders...with ARC it would be OK for a frame but body panels...a little hot, a TIG also takes a lot of practice and some experience, with a MIG it's easier to learn.

Check them out and make sure what ever you purchase can handle both the gauge of metal on the fram and the gauge of metal on the floor.

Ray

·
Keep on Truckin'
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Seeing your a beginner...check out some MIG welders...with ARC it would be OK for a frame but body panels...a little hot, a TIG also takes a lot of practice and some experience, with a MIG it's easier to learn.

Check them out and make sure what ever you purchase can handle both the gauge of metal on the fram and the gauge of metal on the floor.

Ray
Thanks for the info ray, but will a Mig welder be reliable on the frame compared to a tig, I understand there's learning, but I can't get multiple welders so I have to find just one that gets the job done, and Isn't the amperage adjustable? or what is the factor that makes it too hot?

·
Faith - Respect - Trust
3,528 Posts