Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving the 383 I built for a few months now. Strong motor, great oil pressure. Runs good. Fun truck for sure, ended up about a truck length behind a buddies 2015 SS 6.2. The 383 is in a 95 single cab Silverado for anyone who doesn't remember.

The motor is 10.6:1 running pump 93 octane. I've been toying with the idea of adding a small blower like a wieand 177. Adding ~100whp is the goal.

Obviously, short of pulling the engine apart and changing compression ratio, the only option is E85 or race fuel. E85 is available in my area and luckily right down the road from work. This isn't a daily driver but I have never tuned a carb for E85.

How big of a pain in the butt would something like this be? Would E85 handle compression numbers if I was to run something like 5-8 psi? Any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
4,272 Posts
I think your going to be better off starting with a diffrent shortblock. Your going to be pushing what those rings and pistons can handle with e85 as a substitute to proper parts.

That being said if you forget about boost and tune for e85 with more compression using what you have (careful tuning) you may find that 100hp your after.

I would like some electronics to watch and maintain the tune despite the conditions. But nothing compared to what I would want to run to maintain a turbo tune.

·
Registered
33 Posts