Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to the whole transmission rebuilding thing (the inside of a transmission always seemed scarier than inside a motor but I've finally decided to give it a shot lol!!!) I'm working on a 400 transmission out of an '86 Chevy 1 ton van, and I've run into a little bit of a problem. Everything has gone together pretty well but but I have a massive leak in the forward drum when I check it with compressed air :( . I took it back apart and the lip seals were not nicked or torn. So I put it back together, even more slowly and carefully lol, figuring maybe I'd rolled one of the lip seals (though the piston turned freely). Not surprisingly, I got it back together and it still leaks. Using 30 psi of air with the forward drum setting on the pump, I can put my hand over the middle of the drum and feel compressed air blowing out! It's almost like it doesn't even have any seals in it at all. The piston doesn't even try to move! I tried to make sure and match up the lip seals with the old ones that came out (though the transmission had been rebuilt at some time in the past but I don't know who did it or how well it worked). So what do you think? Could it be the check ball in the drum that's stuck? Wouldn't I hear/feel air blowing out the back of the drum if that was the case? Please help! I'm no expert at all but I've read alot of posts about rebuilding 400's (JakeShoe rocks!) and I have the Ron Sessions book, but I just don't understand how it can leak so bad (BTW the piston and drum looked good, I didn't see any gouges or noticable wear).
Thanks!!!!

·
More for Less Racer
20,942 Posts
I could be wrong and it is a different drum, I haven't been in a 400 in a while, but there are 2 seals on the piston and one on the drum? Did you forget the one on the drum itself? Hopefully one of the pro's will see this a give a definative answer.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·