Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i recently had a pushrod snap, luckily i found both pieces and not much damage was done to the engine, other than the gear on the distributor. but im testing the hydraulic lifters to make sure they will push down. i put the hydraulic lifter on the ground and put force down onto it with the pushrod. but to no avail.. i can't get any of them to move. am i suppose to be able to move them myself? something tells me it requires the force of an engine to move them.. but i need expert advice here. thanks.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Lifters

Hi, once a lifter is "pumped up", I doubt that you could move it as you tried. I'm no expert, but I believe the oil in the lifter is just a cushion, as opposed to a solid lifter that is just what it says, "solid". If the oil in a hydraulic lifter did compress, that would relate in a valve that would not open as much as designed by the cam and rocker arm. I probably did not explain as a real mechanic might have, but I hope this helped.

I'm curious to know what the minor damage was, how the gear on the dist. broke, and what caused it all.

Thanks,
Dennis

·
Registered
9,050 Posts
The only time a hydraulic lifter plunger will move with that test is if it is just out of a new box with no oil in it or the lifter is bad!!
The purpose of the oil in the lifter is to form a hydraulic column that can't be pushed down. Your lifters are fine. They passed the test.

·
"May the Schwartz be with you"
1,053 Posts
Re: Lifters

1-bassman said:
Hi, once a lifter is "pumped up", I doubt that you could move it as you tried. I'm no expert, but I believe the oil in the lifter is just a cushion, as opposed to a solid lifter that is just what it says, "solid". If the oil in a hydraulic lifter did compress, that would relate in a valve that would not open as much as designed by the cam and rocker arm. I probably did not explain as a real mechanic might have, but I hope this helped.