Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this so im hoping someone can give me some help - Ive spent a while browsing through previous threads...

I recently bought a 70 chevy c10 that had a supposedly "rebuilt" 350 motor with th350 tranny. The motor was rebuilt the tranny not, both are from a 1982 pickup.
I just got the engine prof. rebuilt with larger valves, mild cam and domed pistons - it has roughly 350-370hp. Needless to say its a new strong motor.
My problem is the tranny, it wont downshift no matter how far the gas is pushed. Ive replaced the detent cable and adjusted it, the fluid is at its normal level but it just wont shift. If I shift manually first is great it pulls strong, shift into second and its really soft and doesnt pull worth a damn until it reaches a fairly high rpm, third seems to work alright. How do I tell for sure whats up with it? Ive changed the fluid, what came out smelled slightly burned. Ive read in here that second gear can be somewhat burned up, can it be the modulator or do I still have a cable problem?

·
Premium Member
2,370 Posts
The detent cable isn't going to affect how the tranny runs. It simply controls the downshifting upon WOT.

The modulator will control when the tranny shifts and its possible its shifting into second too soon or too late and your hitting a drop in your powerband.

However it is most likely that your tranny is on its downhill journey. The burnt smelling fluid is not a good sign.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I understand the basic operation of the detent cable and thats one of the main problems Im having is downshifting at WOT.

I would like to adjust the modulator valve but have to research that a bit so I dont make things worse than they already are.

The whole time I may have assumed the worst (a new tranny) I just wanted to postpone the inevitable.

·
Registered
185 Posts
350 turbo problem