Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys

I'm just a newbie at all this great engine rebuilding stuff.
I have a 289 engine and I'm ready to put the valve train together.

QUESTION(S) PLEASE

Do I degree my cam or not :confused:
I don't have an aggessive cam its just a little above standard. Got roller rockers and screwed in rocker arm studs. Hydraulic lifters.

Now, I've been reading that in all cases its BEST TO DEGREE OUR CAM whenever possible when rebuilding your engine.
I just want my DAILY DRIVER to have a quaility built engine. Yes, I'll have some more horsepower and that's O.K. too. But its still going to be my daily driver.

I've seen on e-bay a CAM KIT with all the goodies that go with the kit. Degree wheel, pointer, engine stop and a VIDEO TOO :)

I wll not buy the kit till I hear what you guys got to say about these questions.

And lastly, I wonder what you guys know more about degreeing a cam then a video does. You guys have been buidling engines a long while and are pro's at it. I'm so GREEN BEHIND THE EARS IT ISN'T FUNNY :thumbup: However, I can follow instruction damn good.

O.K. guys till I hear from you all ~ I'm still in your pro hands. :welcome:

GOD BLESS YOU ALL

Schooner :cool:

·
Registered
2,249 Posts
Degreeing cam

Once you get bit by the Hotrod bug you'll stay bit so buy the kit and do it right,down the line you will probably need it again.Also there has been a lot of cam failure as of late due to changes in motor oil,do yourself a favor use Shell Rotella for breakin in it still has the good lubes in it,for more info check out Melling.com Good Luck!

·
Banned
1,680 Posts
Cam timing is important are that some times gets over looked as the dots are just aligned as that is just a ball park do it righ the first time and degree it in and when defgreeing it in and you find it off the kit then was worth buying.

Good luck

·
King of my Man-cave.
2,896 Posts