Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I do some volunteer work at a local farm and I am looking at acquiring a couple of 1937-38 Ford flatbed trucks for use to give hay rides to folks.

I have never worked on a flat head before. I don't know how long they have been sitting for certain. One maybe 2 years, the other maybe 10. I know one ran when parked.

I figured I'd pull the plugs and pour a little bit of deisel or ATF into each cylinder to lube and free the pistons (I don't know if these engines will even turn yet). I plan to let them soak for about a week.

How do I prime the oil pump before actually cranking it?

Any other precautions I should take to prime and prepare these engines for cranking? Can I use starting fluid to help them out once the deisel is ejected out the cylinders?

I take it the spark plugs are not something I am going to be able to pickup at the local chain stores, right?

·
Troll Hunter
2,694 Posts
Just a few points. First, because of the type drive (gear) the oil pump can't be primed prior to firing as is done on most modern engines. Secondly, the most common occurance on old flatties that have set for a while is stuck valves, so if you have weak, or no, compression on a few cylinders the heads may have to come off and the valves freed.

·
Registered
118 Posts
I think you should find an antique auto parts dealer in your area before you get these things. If you can't, or if they don't carry stuff for the 37-38 flathead Ford, do not get into this project.

I accasionaly work on a 34 flathead, and let me tell you that it would be long junked if it weren't for Mac's Antique Auto Parts in my area. EVERYTHING goes wrong with these engines (from what I've experienced), and no you can't get even spark plugs from a regular Pep Boys or someplace.

·
Registered
721 Posts