Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a retired Master Mechanic trained at the GM Factory.
I greatly prefer FORD over GM,
I started working on cars when I was 12, back in 1962, which makes me 71 Years Young, but I feel and act 30-40.
Over the years, I have built many Hot Rod's and Custom Cars.
Right now, I am building a Boss 302 Crate Race Engine to place in a 1959 VOLVO, yes a Volvo.

Why?
I had build an 1959 Volvo pv544 back in 1971 with a real surplus Le Mans 289 Racing Engine, yes, I got lucky on that buy.
The car only weighs 2072 pounds, but it was the first car to have factory shoulder harness seat belt, crush zones, and a uni-body roll cage built in.
My target finished weight is 2200 pounds which should yield 4.8 pounds per horsepower.
Rocket Bikes, look out, LOL.

The Factory rear end would take the power just fine unless you bang shifted it, then the spider gears would fail, but only the spider gears.
Even with 10" slicks, you could lay rubber shifting into 4th. above 100 MPH.
The car handled great, and performed even better.

It's best track time was 10.5 @ 134 MPH.

The car was too much fun, so I wanted to build one more.

The first car I raced with the old Volvo build, was a HEMI Road Runner 4 speed, it wasn't even close.
I had this car when I was in College, so the news spread fast.

I drove a totally restored 1966 Mustang Fastback 289 HP for many years, as a daily driver, a great car, but after 248,000 miles on it, I let it go to another MUSTANG Enthusiast.
I wanted a new saddle, my wife will only let me have 2 toys at a time, she says that I'm too old (71) to have more than that. LOL.

I have had too many cars to mention usually 5-7 at one time, all fast cars, several brands, and all sleepers.

This 1959 Volvo pv544 only has 46,000 miles on it, all original, it had never been rebuilt.
It has all of the oil change stickers on the door post as part of its documentation on the dates and miles.