Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New member here. After 25 years of raising kids, etc, finally bought myself another street rod. It's a 69 Nova with a 540 BB Chevy and a moderate hydraulic roller (pump gas). Everything is brand new. The car s equipped with power brakes and a vacuum reserve can. When I brought it home the power brakes were obviously not working. A quick inspection revealed that they had the hoses reversed on the vacuum reserve. Now the brakes are working but the exhaust smells terrible as if there is a vacuum leak. Reversing the hoses renders the power brakes useless but the exhaust smells "clean". I've gone over everything and I see no indication of leaks, but this is my first time using a reserve can. Any thoughts?

·
Race it, Don't rice it!
8,822 Posts
Gonna guess the carb idle mixtures are adjusted for the wrong hose connection and now youve corrected that, the carb needs attention.
While your in there, might as well go over everything because you already know you'll find things you would do differently.
25 years of kids? Did you sell them for the Nova?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Gonna guess the carb idle mixtures are adjusted for the wrong hose connection and now youve corrected that, the carb needs attention.
While your in there, might as well go over everything because you already know you'll find things you would do differently.
25 years of kids? Did you sell them for the Nova?
Sounds like a good starting point. Been out of the game for a long time so some of the basics escape me. I'll get there again.
The kids: actually I traded them with some cash.

·
Registered
1,827 Posts
Little off the subject but you have a big block with cam and, most likely, down on vacuum some. Being able to stop good is, well mandatory. Have you considered hydro boost brakes?

·
Registered
15,321 Posts