Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I'm searching for a paint 'formula'/product/sequence to get a dazzling bright 'true'/primary yellow large flake lacquer, certainly no milkyness and a heap of depth.

HOK once had a yellow flake but perhaps it was not popular or it didn't look so good - it was discontinued.

Can anyone suggest a solution? Advice welcome :welcome:

Cheers

David

·
Registered
62 Posts
It's hard to find because yellow is so transparent that adding any flake to it muddies it up.To make it bright be sure to use the lightest primer/sealer you can
cause unless your going to put more than five coats on it , covering dark primer is almost impossible.

Fitzter
www.autorefinishers.com

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Fitzter,

I'm no expert in this - very much research in progress, thanks for your thoughts.

Are there clear non-colored flakes that don't refract and add hue?

The thought is to get internal reflections happening that are 'white light', no hue changes, that would increase reflectivity and go through semi-transparent (clear doped with yellow) layers.

I would imagine the quality of the yellow pigment/dye would be crucial. A pure single pigment yellow (Cadmium or an Azo pigment?) mixed with clear rather than a multi-color yellow. Any paint chemists here? I don't much fancy playing around with cadmium due to it's toxicity.

The paint shop I think used three or four different colors to get the existing yellow - this might be fine for a base but would muddy up I'd imagine if diluted in clear.

Am I on the right track here anyone? Is it no coincidence that I've never seen a bright yellow flake paint job and it's all in my head? The machinations of the ignorant? :confused:

Cheers

David

·
Registered
7 Posts
maybe pearl