Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a minor problem that hopefully will work itself out

I keep getting water in the trunk of my 64 t-bird, the old seal was pretty bad around the trunk,so I replaced it, then i was still getting water in the trunk, so i redid the seal and am still getting water in the same place. There is currently just sheet metal in the trunk, no liner or finishing of any kind, I am hoping that the problem might be condensation getting in and collecting in that area. There are some open gaps near the wheel wells and a hole that was cut out where there was rust, I am putting a large considerably expensive sound system in, and I must get rid of the water.

what if anything can I do? anything specific i can look for? is it probably jus condensation becaiuse of the gaps? I am new to the whole restoration and hotrod world so any help will be appreciated. thanks
~eric

·
Duck Tape & WD 40
278 Posts
why dont you fix the hole that was cut (where you said the rust was) then fix the gaps that you talked about and then see what happens.

Just my opinion but I think you should fix the holes / gaps on your body before you put in a sound system. it seems kind of foolish when you have a car that the radio in it is worth more than the car itself

·
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
16,460 Posts
Also think about the water being "thrown up" from the road. If you have holes in the wheel wells or trunk floor this is very possible.
It is NOT condensation, you need WATER to make condensation.

·
Registered
70 Posts