Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be welding some patches in my floor pan and I'm going to have to be in the car to do it. This is my first attempt at welding but I had a profesional welder show me how to a few years ago but I can't quite remeber everything. What I want to know is will I hurt myself being on what I'm welding?

·
Chopper Builder o<>\o
171 Posts
I'm sure you must have taken out the seats and carpet where you are welding. Make sure your burn through isn't contacting with a fuel line or any thing else that might burn. Have a spray bottle ready to put out fires. Clean the metal so you get good penetration while welding. I've used a 4" tiger disk on a hand grinder. Use a fan to blow the fumes out of the car. Wear protective clothing and #10 lens works best for me. Those are some of my suggestions.
:cool:

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
fourbyfourblazer said:
I'm sure you must have taken out the seats and carpet where you are welding. Make sure your burn through isn't contacting with a fuel line or any thing else that might burn. Have a spray bottle ready to put out fires. Clean the metal so you get good penetration while welding. I've used a 4" tiger disk on a hand grinder. Use a fan to blow the fumes out of the car. Wear protective clothing and #10 lens works best for me. Those are some of my suggestions.
:cool:
Yeah, the car has been gutted. Pardon my ignorance but is there any chance of me getting electrocuted?

·
Registered
654 Posts
No such thing as an ignorant question. Stay out of water, keep the ground attached properly and you should be fine. Wear proper protective clothing and leather boots so you don't get burned. Practice on some scrap pieces first to get the amperage set properly so you don't burn through the floor or patches.

·
Chopper Builder o<>\o
171 Posts
'60buickrod said:
is there any chance of me getting electrocuted?