Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,701 Posts
Most urethane primer surfacers are specd for use over 180 grit scratches so you will be safe at that, some users will primer over 80 grit and report no problems-I say why take that chance? My filler work gets finished to 180 at a minimum and oftentimes I'll go as fine as 220 or 320 and give it a rubdown with a red scotchbrite. It takes very little time to guidecoat and step down to a finer grit-minutes usually.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Sanding with 80 Grid

I am a body man by trade. In vocational school 25 years ago, we used 80 grid dry prior to primming. Further, we sanded primmer with 80 grid dry until flat. Then, we went to progressive finner grids as needed for the top coat paint. The final prime must be done with an fine paper to prevent sand scratches on the top coat. If you epoxy prime the final sand, 360 grid dry will be fine enough for urethanes. I am taking somewhere in the 500 grid dry range or finer for urethanes without an epoxy prime. I use dry for everything prior to top coat paint.

I am still doing this today. After 25 years of experience doing this, I have not had a problem that I can attribute to using 80 grid paper the way I have explained above. I have had sand scratch issues when getting lazy on the final sands. I am very active with body work and have painted hundreds of cars over the years.

The reason you want to use the coarsest grid possible is to speed the sanding steps. I am giving away all of me secrets to getting body work done fast. It does not hurt to use finer grid. It will just take longer with no end benefit.

I hope this helps.

Tom Meyer

·
Hotrodders.com moderator
9,581 Posts
tmeyer said:
The reason you want to use the coarsest grid possible is to speed the sanding steps. I am giving away all of me secrets to getting body work done fast. It does not hurt to use finer grid. It will just take longer with no end benefit.
I hope this helps.
Tom Meyer