Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, This is my first post here(i have posted on a few other sites), but I just recently took a trip out to the desert to visit my grandparents, and i came across this Gran Torino which my grandpa is just letting me take (it obviously needs a LOT of work, but I have a lot of time). I've been looking up engine differences for a few hours every day this week, and scrolling back and forth between the pictures i took of the car, online engine guides, ebay auctions, google images, and this site. I am a noob to classic cars but not cars in general, I know how to do more than a few mod's and repairs.

I need to find the engine, I believe it is some type of 351 (hopefully a windsor) but i could be wrong.

BTW The Engine has been replaced!! i don't know with what.

Thank You so much for your help. :thumbup:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nah I don't have any of the breather, i wish i knew what i was looking for when i was up there, or i would've taken some close ups of the breather and valve/rocker covers

heres some more pics, idk if it will help, but thanks anyway. :sweat:

·
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
13,765 Posts
I really can't tell what it is but it's either a 351 windsor or a 302, a 302 intake is only like 9 inches wide a 351 windsor is wider so if you can measure the intake then we will know. Cole

·
13,765 Posts
If it's where you can take the breather off and check the fireing order on the intake if it's a 351 windsor the fireing order will be 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. If it's a 302 it will be 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8. hope this helps. Cole

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·