Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
List Members

In my 64 Nova drag car I have this rearend. I was told it was an Olds from the seller I got it from who did not build the car. I am far from an expert but I thought all GM's rearends had a bolt pattern on the back like 10 bolt 12 bolt. And ford were this type. Any insight or ID of this would be very helpful. I can take a pic if the other side if need be. I just had these pics on file already.

It does have a 6 bolt pattern to bolt the wheels on. Was also told it had commercial axles. Has anyone heard of Commercial axles? Or what does Commercial mean? Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
994 Posts

Does the front look like this? According to the article:

Pontiac and Oldsmobile shared this Hotchkiss-type axle from 1957 through 1964. With its massive 9.30-inch ring gear and optional Eaton limited-slip differential, it was the third member of choice in the heyday of the supercharged Gasser and was as popular among racers as the Ford 9-inch. But that was nearly 35 years ago. Today, service parts are scarce, though ratios from 4.10 to 4.88:1 are still available. Thanks to its mass, this axle can safely handle 400 horsepower. The best cases have three stiffening ribs (shown), and the ’57 housing is a direct bolt-in for ’55-’57 Chevys.

http://www.hotrod.com/techarticles/axle_rear_end_guide/

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Commercial axles means pickup truck axles. Only the pickups trucks from GM had the 6-bolt pattern during the 50s-60s-70s.
In the old days Chevrolet cars had the 6-bolt pattern through 1948, although there were a couple in the mid-30s that had 5-bolt. The trucks continued with the 6-bolt after the cars changed to 5-bolt.

·
Registered
5,653 Posts
Photos you show are of the wrong side ... ;)