Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:) Ok, this is my first attempt to build a chassis and I wonder what went wrong. I'm building a SBC powered Triumph Spitfire, and using a narrowed Ford 8.8. The car originally had IRS so the rear half needed to go bye-bye to install a 4-link.(plus it was super rusty) Anyway, I cut the frame off just behind the front body mounts and replaced it with a homemade chassis made from 2x3" rectangular tubing. I built it using a square and the floor in my shop. As I tacked everything together, I measured over and over again and checked my angles with the square. After everything was tacked, I began to weld everything solid. I moved around to different seems so as not to put too much heat into one area at a time. After everything was said and done, it sat nice and square on the floor. So after everything was cooled, two days later(today), I notice the whole thing was slightly twisted. The passenger side corner is now about 1/8" off the floor. What could I do to prevent this from happening in the future? What did I do wrong? To me this is a giant learning experience and I'm not sweating it too much. This car is likely to be a "prototype" for the next one. Do you guy's think this will affect the cars drivability or it hooking up at the track? Thanx for any inputs!:)

·
Philippines Cowboy
888 Posts
Only off 125 thou on a large weldment? I'd pat myself on the back for a job well done! Don't worry about it!! If anybody asks, tell them it was perfect.

Personally, I'd have used the Corvette IRS. Even with wrinkle walls, you probably couldn't have busted it on a car that light. (I have a Sprite with a shortened Chevy axle and wish now that I'd used an IRS. With a narrow track, that unloading of the right rear really becomes a problem!)

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #4