Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found out that I have a Ford Courior master brake booster. Do you think it is big enough for my 37 Ford Tudor?? I am running a Disc/Drum system.. This has a remote filler that would be mounted on the lower firewall.. Thanks..

·
Registered
3,925 Posts
FWIW, I'm running an early 80's Mazda pickup truck booster on my 31 roadster (disc fronts and drum rears) and it provides plenty of stopping power. Your 37 is heavier but I would tend to believe the Courier booster would work fine.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I wasn't sure, as to the size is small. Now any idea how these are hooked up?? With the remote filler I can see where it goes into the master cylinder, but I am not so sure how to plumb the bottom??

·
Registered
3,925 Posts
Here's the plumbing on my Mazda master/booster.

You can see on the top side of the master the two inlets from the remote fill tank. The master itself is a dual cylinder. The single brake line outlet on the rear (closest to booster) goes to the rear axle where it will split to the right and left drum brakes.

The two outlets off the front of the dual master go the front disc brakes. I think this is pretty standard and is probably the same on your Courier.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes. That's it. I also have a valve that came with both boosters. I was told that it was a prop. valve. My question is. While using this booster ou say that there is 2 lines that go to the front brakes. I have to use a 2psi vale in the front, and a 10psi valve in the rear. How can I use the 2psi valve in the front, when I would be running 2 lines. I have a picture of the vale that came with my stuff in my project journal.. Thanks.. Al

·
Registered
3,925 Posts