Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Hotrodders.com Moderator
2,859 Posts
That's insane. It looks like a rust bucket, I wonder if that made the destruction any easier? I had to study that pic before I realized I was looking at the back of the car, I saw the leaf springs. That's one tuff pole.

·
Worn Out and Broken
17 Posts
I worked in the power line business for nearly forty years, and saw a lot of cars and trucks wrapped around poles, but never one done that tight. Saw an early fifties Dodge that hit a big pole head on, busted the pole off and drove through under it, and went on down the road leaving a trail of fluids until it stopped about a hundred feet on; the front end was pushed in in a near perfect "U" shape about three feet, and the engine was in the front seat. Another one, an early seventies Charger hit a big pole and busted it off, and the broken off pole butt jumped over the hood and dropped through the windshield into the drivers lap; we had to lift the pole out of the car so the rescue folks could get the poor guy out. I don't know if he made it or not, but he was still alive and screaming when they took him away. Poles and cars do not make good companions; seen some nasty situations with them.

·
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
16,459 Posts
That car is on it's side and the pole is IN the drivers and passengers front seats! HOLY CRAP, all I can think of is how strong that pole is! I have never seen one that didn't break off long before the car could get around it like that! WOW

Brian

·
when will it rain???
1,295 Posts
well after checking the photo out and having the OP and c-10 state what car they thought it was, im looking at it thinking to myself, how in the world can you tell what car this was?